top of page
  • Writer's picturefera

Menstrual Cup Advice

Written by Sarah Weiner


*DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT AN EXPERT OR A DOCTOR. I’m just one person, drawing from my own experiences and the resources I used.

Have you been pondering making the switch from disposable to reusable menstrual products? Having recently made the switch myself, I thought some readers might benefit from a list of tips, tricks, and resources that I’ve found helpful in my journey!

1: Is the cup right for you?

I used to have horrible anxiety around my period. From age 11, when I first got my period, to 18, I refused to use tampons. I the thought of putting anything *up there* was weird and deeply unsettling. When I finally did try tampons, I absolutely hated them. I thought they were uncomfortable and nerve-wracking, and that they would come apart inside of me (a fear that… it turns out was not completely unwarranted). I had heard about menstrual cups but had an even bigger fear of those. They looked huge and I would have to get even further *up* than I would with an applicator and tampon. I didn’t think it would fit! I knew people regularly grew and pushed babies out of there, sure, but that was the last thing on my mind. Eventually I did try tampons, but I found them uncomfortable and never actually used them.

At the beginning of the pandemic, I started to look more into zero waste living. I saw all of these swaps that people made in their lives to cut down on waste and I started to look into how reusable alternatives for things that are usually disposed. Everything from coffee filters, to metal straws, and, yes, menstrual products like period underwear, cups, discs, and reusable pads. While I still wasn’t really considering making that particular switch yet, I was much more comfortable with my body at that time and wasn’t really as afraid of trying it anymore.

I decided to look into it more and more. I got sucked into a research rabbit hole (as I’m sure so many of us have during this pandemic) as I started to actually consider making this sustainable swap. I knew my cousins both used them, so I called them to chat about their experiences with them, and with help from them and the internet, I finally took the leap and bought my diva cup in July.

There are a lot of perks to the cup. For one, you can leave it in for up to 10–12 hours, and if you have the right fit, you won’t be able to feel it at all! It has a significantly lower risk of Toxic Shock Syndrome than tampons, and it doesn’t have all of the irritating chemicals that often come in pads and tampons (which is a whole other issue that could probably be its own article). It doesn’t have the drying effect that tampons have, and helps to keep vaginal PH levels balanced. Most importantly, at least for some people, you can save a TON of money in the long run.

My story is just one of many — some people jump right into using the cup, and have no issues with it at all! But I know that there are others like me, who are curious but not yet comfortable with the idea. It is certainly not for everyone; and with a more expensive upfront cost, it might not be the most affordable option to “just try out.” If you, like me, find yourself overwhelmed with curiosity (especially sitting at home with not much else to do), I hope this guide can offer you a good jumping off point to help you determine if this is something that could work for you.

2: Finding Resources

There’s lots of information out there already, but I personally recommend that you check out https://putacupinit.com. They have quizzes that you can take to determine which cup is best for you, and many instructional videos, and coupons! They also have a facebook group (that I joined as part of my journey) where people unashamedly talk about their problems with various cups and discs, post memes, and share stories. This group also goes out of its way to use gender neutral language when discussing cups, discs and periods, making it an accessible place for trans and nonbinary people who menstruate. I joined it before I even bought the cup just to get a sense of how other cup users felt, and even to brace myself for some horror stories. Fortunately, I have found that these stories are few and far between, and can often be remedied by making sure you have the right cup, and that you are inserting and removing correctly

I also found it helpful to talk to people who have tried it, and to watch YouTube videos where people reviewed and compared cups that I was interested in. Ultimately, however, the only person who knows if a certain cup will work for your body, is you.

3: Picking The Right Cup for You

What I didn’t realize when I started looking into the cup, was how many different shapes, brands, textures, and sizes there were. I had heard of DivaCup and… that was about it. But there are actually a ton of these companies, which all cater to the many different needs of different bodies. For helping find which cup works best for you, I would direct a lot of readers to the putacupinit.com cup quiz. This quiz provides only an estimation of course, and I will admit that despite getting recommended the Saalt cup recommended by my quiz, I ended up trying the Divacup and being very happy with it. Even within brands, there are often variations in flexibility, length, and shape that will work for different people based on age, level of activity, and whether they’ve been pregnant. This too, is evaluated by the quiz, which is what makes it such a useful tool.

I learned that cervix height and direction are crucial parts of deciding which cup to use (or if you need to try a disc) Determining this involves feeling inside of your vagina (when on you period) for the part that feels firm, “like the tip of your nose.” For an estimation, you can measure using your knuckles, but if you want a more exact length, compare your finger to a ruler as shown in this article. Put a cup in it also has a helpful guide that tells you exactly how long different cups are so even after taking the quiz if you want more specific details (or you’re more math-minded) you can get even more specific.

Keep in mind, also, that there are a lot of modifications that can be made to a cup that might not seem perfect initially. For about 3 months, my cups stem was too long, and kept poking me. Most of these brands encourage you to trim the cup if this happens, but I was worried that I would trim too short and wouldn’t be able to get the cup out. This turned out to be a non-issue, since the only way this could possibly happen is if your cup is WAY too short for your cervix (and even then, you can generally get it out yourself without getting medical professionals involved.) Making this very small adjustment has made an incredible difference. Some people even turn their cups inside out, or completely cut off the stem, and claim that this is the secret to a perfect fit.

4: Inserting the Cup

There are a lot of ways to insert the cup, which involves folding or squishing the mouth of the cup and then, like a tampon, inserting it into the vagina canal. These include the “C-fold” the “seven fold,” and the one I’ve had the most luck with, the “punch down,” all of which can be viewed here. Nonetheless, it still takes a lot of trial and error. Luckily, there is a lot of advice out there on how to insert it, including to try squatting, putting one leg up on the toilet, doing it in the shower, using a NON-SILICONE BASED lube (otherwise your cup could deteriorate). If it doesn’t work, take a break and come back. Wait a whole cycle if you have to. Take the time you need to figure this out and be kind to yourself. For a good instructional video, see here.

Once you do manage to get it in place (yay!) make sure the cup has fully opened, otherwise it’s going to leak. You can do this by running your finger around the inside of the cup, making sure its flush against your vaginal canal, and by tugging on it gently. This creates a seal that will trap all of the blood inside the cup. Then you should be good to go! I would advise wearing a panty liner or “period underwear” for at least the first few times you try it as “backup” in case of any leaks.

It can be weird at first. Once I finally got mine in, I nearly passed out and had to lie down, and from conversations I’ve had online it seems I am not alone here. It can be weird, physically and psychologically. Like I said give yourself time, and you will get used to it.

5: Removing the cup

When either 12 hours is up, or whenever your cup is full (you will feel a gurgling sensation and will likely leak), it is time to remove the cup.

Say it with me everyone: BREAK. THE. SEAL.

DO NOT just pull this bad boy out. You will hurt yourself. I’m glad I didn’t have to learn this the hard way. Even if you (like me) don’t have an IUD, it definitely does NOT feel good. As addressed in the insertion part, the cup functions by forming a seal. You can break this seal by reaching a finger all the way up the side of the cup and pushing inwards until it crunches into itself, similar to insertion. If this idea bothers you, don’t worry — there is actually a cup (the flex cup) that breaks the seal for you just by pulling on the bottom, much like a tampon string.

If you are really struggling, don’t panic. It’s not stuck. Like I said earlier, it can’t really get stuck. You can squat and try to, for lack of a better term, “birth” the cup out. This first time, it might be best to try to take it out before you actually need to, to give yourself time to take a break while trying to remove it.

6: Cleaning the Cup

Because this goes inside of you, it is important that it be clean to avoid getting any infections. The cup, it should come with cleaning instructions, but generally good practice is to boil it before and after your period. If you drop it in a toilet, or use it while you have any kind of infection, many companies advise you get a new one. You don’t need to throw it out if you notice the color changing slightly (especially if you have a clear one), though, that’s perfectly normal and healthy. Notably, it’s important to make sure the little holes around the rim of the cup are clear, which is what allows the cup to suction to the walls of your vagina. In between individual uses, you should dump out and wash your cup before reinserting it. There are, however, a lot of products for if you need to clean on the go. You can buy special cleaning fluid or wipes from many cup companies (sex toy cleaning fluid works too), but honestly, boiling works just fine. They also make special steaming pods for sanitizing cups. I would recommend having a designated pot for boiling your cup (especially if you share your appliances with others in your household), but it’s not technically necessary. That’s more of a personal preference or courtesy.

7. The Awkward Stuff: A Non-Comprehensive List

These are just a few things that weren’t covered by a lot of guides, that I learned mostly anecdotally, but I felt like need to be discussed more.

1. Don’t use it while you have any kind of infection, and if you do most companies will advise you get a new one to avoid re-infecting yourself whenever you re-insert it. Some people claim there are ways to sanitize it so you don’t get re-infected, but be on the safer side and get a new one. 2. It’s probably best if you don’t have penetrative sex with the cup. Many discs are designed for this however, so if it’s something you want I’d recommend looking into that as a possibility. Masturbation and non-penetrative sex, however, is just fine! 3. The cup can put pressure on your bladder and make it hard to pee. Some people can’t pee with it in, and some people don’t notice it. This is really just something to be aware of. 4. In that same vein, a lot of people will tell you not to poop with the cup because often if you push too hard you could push the cup out. Alternatively, much like peeing, it can be difficult because of internal pressure. Again, something to be conscious of when trying the cup out, or even picking out a cup, as some cup shapes can affect this.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

No Whorephobia in My Feminism

By Sanah Malik SWERF is an acronym standing for Sex Worker-Exclusionary Radical Feminist, a label for women who support mainstream feminism but oppose sex work, believing it is ultimately oppressive.

bottom of page